How did we do? Researcher Development Programme workshops in RDM

Myself and Stephen ran a two-hour workshop  called “Managing your research data” together with Sarah Jones from the DCC on 1st and 2nd of May.

The course was part of the Researcher Development Programme organised by Dr Caroline Dunmore in the Graduate School. Stephen blogged about the workshops here.

The following post collates the feedback forms from 24 respondents out of 32 attendees and we hope this is of use to others who may be thinking of offering similar workshops to research staff or students.

Researcher Developement Programme: RDM Workshop 2

Researcher Development Programme: RDM Workshop 2

The responses that we received on what was useful and/or enjoyable about the workshop were as follows:

  • Exercise on data management plan
  • All aspects were useful but specifically, the 5 Common Themes
  • Proper workshop about Data Management
  • Lots of useful information is provided
  • The workshop is an eye opener for me as I have just started my PhD
  • Discussion about data storage
  • I found the whole workshop useful as an introduction to the concept of managing my research data.
  • UK Data Archive and other Data Archive sites.
  • File formats for long-term access
  • Knowing about online storage mediums
  • Data Management Plans
  • What data to share
  • Guidance on sharing data and re-using data after completion/publication.
  • The guidance brochures look extensive and informative – grateful to receive for future reading.
  • The topic of the workshop was relevant to my data management for my PhD
  • The context was well structured and delivered
  • The various ways of data back-up
  • Very useful and timely
  • Good introduction of the topic. Improved my understanding of managing research data. The key aspects of this step of my research have been clarified.
  • How to back-up and file types to use. Good template and activity based around a management plan.
  • The updating on information relevant to this topic.
  • Useful forum to ask specific questions to supplement general issues.
  • Data sharing, security and back-up planning for data.
  • Issues in data sharing
  • Opportunity for discussion/questions.
  • A good pack, lunch and presentation!

What learning points will you take away and apply in your work?

Am more conscious about data storage and management

Will go away and put together a data management plan.

I will definitely use the Checklist (DCC) for a Data Management Plan

Plan for data storage

Take note of the importance of data management, which can benefit researchers’ work in terms of security and time management

This will be useful in planning my future work and in working with PGR students

The University’s File Transfer Service

A Data Management Plan

Writing consent forms to share my data

The guides (if I want to share my data)

Thinking deeply about ethics; Intellectual property;  sharing  and re-using data.

Making sure I keep at least 3 copies of every data I work with at different locations.

About storing data at multiple sites.

Re-using and backing up data.

It is very important for me to start planning for my data.

To have a plan in place to manage my data.

I will also need to check with the University and the research sponsors what restrictions my sponsors will place on sharing of my research data.

Using a data Data Dictionary.

How to save data for long-term and who can access my data.

Apply storage guidelines for my data to UEL IT options: backup at UEL. I currently backup at home and an external drive but it would be useful to be backed up in a third geographical location.

To plan ahead for data management in my work. For example, legal aspect of intellectual property and licensing. Means of storage of data; methods for storage data.

What are your suggestions for improving the workshop?

Right length, so no improvements necessary. Perhaps a follow-up/part 2/refresher session would be useful later.

I think it would be useful to identify the stage at which PhD students are in RDM. In order to make it more clear for them.

As I’m a first year MPhil/PhD student I haven’t yet considered or collected the data, my suggestion would be to target this sort of workshop on students who are already familiar with their data. However it is a starting point and very useful for future data management.

Tailor the session for PGR students at strategic points of their research project. E.g. point to data sharing.

More time to go through the a data management plan.

Take your time and do not rush through the slides.

I think it would be nice to have a similar workshop for those whose research are more technical (e.g. Engineering) as we do more of simulation and optimization.

More time for exercise and the presentation.

As a lot of PhDs are funded by external companies, perhaps some more guidance on the type of restrictions that my be placed on research data.

I thought this was a useful exercise in being introduced to a range of issues surrounding data management and the workshop was appropriately scaled.

Maybe training for sharing tools!

Maybe more interactive than just the slides. No offence please! Also I found the initial time where people were asked about their experience is not of much use.

Interesting and very knowledgeable. This programme should be introduced during the Induction because of the sensitivity of data access and what data can be shared.

The room was over-crowded (too many participants). More examples real life. Good and bad would improve the workshop and what I take away.

I would have liked to attend this workshop earlier in my PhD process. I think this should be targeted at early PhD students. This would have helped me to a greater extent.

Suffice to say this feedback is invaluable to us in future training that we conduct. The majority of participants were PhD students and from the feedback there were definite questions raised about whether a similar course should be offered to other PhD students and at what points in their research.

In light of these ideas next week we are launching a survey for participants to ask them about what they’d like to see next in terms of training. We’ll be blogging about that as well so watch this space.

Leave a Reply

